Priorités de recherche en production des cultures

2018/19 Crop Production Research Priorities

The following is a summarized list of the Canola Council of Canada’s priorities for research and innovation under the pillars of Sustainability, Integrated Pest Management, Harvest & Storage Management, Stand Establishment, and Fertility Management.  These priorities have been determined by the Crop Production and Innovation (CP&I) team through consultation with expert steering groups, industry members, and the annual Canola Discovery Forum meeting.

 

Sustainability- updated 11/2/2018

Gregory Sekulic: sekulicg@canolacouncil.org

  • Quantify ecosystem services on canola yield
  • Determine the role of buffer strips in mitigating nutrient and pesticide run-off
  • Determine nutrient and pesticide load in tile-drainage effluent
  • Determine the impact of climate change and landscape modification on canola yield

 

Integrated Pest Management

Insect Pests- updated 11/2/2018

Keith Gabert: gabertk@canolacouncil.org

  • Genetic screening for canola insect pest resistance
  • Evaluation of alternate (non-neonicotinoid) management strategies for flea beetles
  • Investigation of natural enemies and tactics for enhancing their control of key pest species
  • Modelling for dynamic thresholds of key pest species

Weeds- update to come

Ian Epp: eppi@canolacouncil.org

Sclerotinia Stem Rot - updated 10/4/2018

Clint Jurke: jurkec@canolacouncil.org

  • Develop highly resistant canola varieties
  • Develop a robust sclerotinia stem rot canola canopy risk assessment model to forecast the development of an epidemic on a field basis
  • Fast in-field assessment of S. sclerotiorum ascospore loads

Clubroot - updated 6/1/2018

Dan Orchard: orchardd@canolacouncil.org

  • Solutions to grow economically viable canola in the presence of clubroot
  • Further understand the biology and physiology of the clubroot pathogen
  • Solutions to reduce the risk of the clubroot disease in regions with low spore concentrations

Blackleg - updated 10/4/2018

Justine Cornelsen: cornelsenj@canolacouncil.org

  • Evaluate the impacts of crop management and cultural control on blackleg severity and the durability of genetic resistance
  • Provide / evaluate  fungicidal seed treatment or in-furrow treatment for blackleg control
  • Determine what the potential for blackleg root infection pathway is in Western Canada
  • Explore related genomes for novel resistant genes

 

Harvest and Storage Management:

Storage - updated 9/10/2018

Angela Brackenreed: brackenreeda@canolacouncil.org

  • Development of best management practices for storage of canola in large bins, such as airflow and temperature dynamics and fan requirements for adequate airflow
  • Evaluation of alternative conditioning and drying methods/technologies
  • Revaluate canola’s equilibrium moisture content (EMC)

Harvest- updated 9/5/2018

Angela Brackenreed: brackenreeda@canolacouncil.org

Shawn Senko: senkos@canolacouncil.org

  • Correlate phenotypical maturity with moisture and chlorophyll loss
  • Develop / test yield and loss monitor technology with the accuracy and precision necessary to utilize in field scale research

 

Stand Establishment- updated 10/19/2018

Autumn Barnes: barnesa@canolacouncil.org

  • Understand the mechanisms of non-germination and non-emergence to improve emergence and early season vigor
  • Understand the management implications and risk of plant population ranges (1-4, 5-8 plants/ ft2)

 

Fertility Management update to come

Warren Ward: wardw@canolacouncil.org